skip to main content
« Back to news list
Wilson Elected as SCSBA Region 3 Director

News Image


COLUMBIA – Johnny Wilson, board member of the Georgetown County School District Board, was elected as Region 3 Director of the South Carolina School Boards Association (SCSBA) during the association’s annual Delegate Assembly December 5. He was appointed this past year to serve as the region director to fill the vacated seat.

The association’s annual business meeting, which was held during the association’s Legislative Advocacy Conference, included voting delegates from most of the state’s 81 school boards. In addition to electing association officers, delegates adopted resolutions to guide the association during the 2016 legislative session.

A native of Georgetown, Wilson has served on the Georgetown County School District Board for more than eight years. He retired from the SC National Guard and has worked in maintenance at International Paper Company for 45 years. He is very involved in service to children with cancer and working with people with special needs.

Wilson and his wife Marsha have three children and four grandchildren.

Officers elected to lead the association’s board of directors for a one-year term are as follows:

§  President, Kathy Coleman, Saluda County Schools
§  President-elect, Queenie Boyd, Lee County School District
§  Vice President, John Wesley Hightower, Aiken County Public School District
§  Treasurer, Tony Folk, Dorchester School District Four
§  Secretary, Chuck Saylors, Greenville County Schools

Others elected to serve a four-year term on the 22-member board of directors as regional directors are:

§  Region 1 Director, Gail Hughes, Dorchester School District Two
§  Region 7 Director, Mary Ulmer, Orangeburg Consolidated School District Five
§  Region 11 Director, James Doug Atkins, Anderson School District One
§  Region 15, Kenneth Baxter, Greenville County Schools

 The South Carolina School Boards Association is a non-profit organization serving as a source of information and a statewide voice for boards governing the state’s 81 school districts.

Congratulations, Johnny Wilson!